Skip to main content

Franciszek Zachara Collection

Identifier: M1.A18 M1

Scope and Contents

The Franciszek Zachara Collection contains uncataloged manuscripts by the composer, consisting of 29 complete works and roughly 13 incomplete works. The manuscripts include works for symphony, symphonic band, solo, and chamber ensembles. The collection also contains audio and video recordings of Zachara's performances.


  • 1931-1964


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to all researchers. Users may access this collection by making an appointment with the Music Special Collections staff at

Biographical / Historical

Franciszek Zachara (1898-1966) was a Polish-American concert pianist, composer, and college music educator. He was born in Poland in 1898, and studied in Saratov and St. Petersburg, Russia. He taught at FSU from 1948 until his death in 1966.

Zachara composed well over 300 works, and was very active as a performer. He had given more than 500 concerts in Europe before coming to New York City in 1928, where he made his American debut. He had extensive radio experience, with frequent appearances over New York stations WOR and WNYC, and weekly programs for eight years over Atlanta station WSB. He made frequent television appearances in Jacksonville, Florida, and on Educational WFSU-TV. One of his video tapes from the Music Hall Series at FSU is held by the Warren D. Allen Music Library. He possessed a phenomenal repertoire at the piano, including the entire works of Chopin, a field in which he was a specialist. Included in his publications are Twelve Master Preludes (1931), Concerto No. 1 for Piano and Orchestra in E Major (1937), Twelve Master Etudes (1938), Three Organ Chorales (1954), and Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (1964).


4.75 Linear Feet (music)

.9 Linear Feet (recordings)

Language of Materials


Related Materials

  • Froelich, Mark. "The Franciszek Zachara Collection at the Warren D. Allen Music Library: catalog and biographical notes," 2005.
  • Language of description
    Script of description

    Repository Details

    Part of the Allen Music Library Special Collections Repository

    FSU College of Music
    122 N. Copeland St.
    Tallahassee FL 32306
    850-644-3982 (Fax)